Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | March 14, 2008

“The Other Boleyn Girl”

Tonight I went to see the aboved mentioned movie The Other Boleyn Girl.

I went into the movie with no knowledge of any of the history surrounding it…. Ah to be American… I feel ashamed just typing it. Ok I take that back, my MIL told me the movie was based on real events and in real life one of the sisters got beheaded.

It was not until 3/4 of the way through the movie I looked over at my friend and said “OH WAIT…That is Henry the VIII!” my friend said “UH YEA?!?” As if to say, well who in the hell did you think he was? And when his child Elizabeth was born…I did not know (until the end of the movie) that she was THE Queen Elizabeth I have always heard of…

I have to stop here and thank Eddie Izzard for providing me with his Dressed to Kill stand up act because without him all of the wires might not have connected to turn my light bulb on! In the words of Mr. Izzard: “Mr. Pope! I’m going to marry my first wife, and then I’m going to divorce her. Now, I know what you’re going to say but stick with me – my story gets better. I’m going to marry my second wife and then I’m gong to kill her – cut her head off! Ahhhh, not expecting that, are ya?”

……….Ok back to the movie:

I liked the movie a lot. It is not a buyer for me but I would definitely watch it again. I would rate this movie  4  3 1/2 stars.

Responses

  1. Well, I hope the movie is good, but please don’t try the book unless you have a LOT of patience. I tried reading it last year. It’s by Phillipa Gregory. It jumps between Anne Boleyn, Mary Boleyn and Katherine Howard. Each chapter switches to one of their lives..but after the end of the chapter, you forget where you were with the other person that it jumps to. Some of the chapters are long and some are very short..but still..I can deal with jumping between 2 people..but not 3..it was just too much.
    I must say Phillipa Gregory’s book, The Constant Princess, was really well written. I enjoyed it. It’s about Catherine of Aragon, Henry VIII’s first wife. She was supposedly married to his older brother that died an early death. A lot of Phillipa Gregory’s books are based on actual fact, but not all of it. 🙂

  2. Ha! Being the stinker that I am, this movie seems a tad mainstream for my tastes. I’m glad you liked it though!

    I think you should be the resident movie reviewer.

    I also loved The Bob Dylan biopic…I’m Not There. Realyl want to see Diving Bell and the Butterfly too!!

  3. Ara – That is one of the types of books I would NOT read…unless it was required for a class in school (which I am out of!).

    I would watch any of them as a movie though.

    NK – I do not mind mainstream and a bit of everything else. I am big into blockbusters but not very big into artsy films.

    Speaking of artsy films… I saw ‘Atonement’ and HATED it. I would only give that movie MAYBE 2 stars.

    I would like to see ‘I’m Not There’ that movie also had Heath in it and I LOVED his work.

  4. the Diving Bell and the Butterfly , is a movie im soo wanting to watch, the trailer looks sooo nice.

    hats off to that guy, he sure has the guts to live life.

  5. I just looked up the Diving Bell and the Butterfly (Scaphandre et le papillon, Le ) I have to say it is not one that strikes my fancy. As I said before I am not much into the artsy films. I read what the story is about and it sounds ok. I will probably watch it when it is on video but it is definitely not a theater must for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

