Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | March 23, 2008

April/May 2008

comingsoon.jpg 

All of these movies have been deemed “theater worthy”.

Titles listed in purple are on my “MUST SEE” list!

Items in Red were added after publishing.

April

Nim’s Island: April 4th 

Genre: Adventure, Family, Comedy

MPAA Rating: PG (for mild adventure action and brief language)

Starring: Abigail Breslin, Gerard Butler and Jodie Foster

Street Kings: April 11th

Genre: Crime, Drama, Thriller

MPAA Rating: R (for strong violence and pervasive language.)

Starring: Keanu Reeves, Forest Whitaker, Hugh Laurie, Chris Evans, Common, Jay Mohr, and Cedric the Entertainer

The Forbidden Kingdom: April 18th  I saw this movie tonight (4/19) – click here for my review!

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy

MPAA Rating: PG-13 (for sequences of martial arts action and some violence)

Starring: Michael Angarano, Morgan Benoit, Jackie Chan, Collin Chou, Bingbing Li, Jet Li, and Yifei Liu

Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay: April 25th

Genre: Adventure, Comedy

MPAA Rating: This film has not yet been rated

Starring: John Cho, Kal Penn, and Neil Patrick Harris

May

Iron Man: May 2nd  I heard the trailer for the X-Files Sequel will be featured with this movie!!!

Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama, Thriller

MPAA Rating: This film has not yet been rated

Starring: Robert Downey Jr., Terrance Howard, Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, and Samuel L. Jackson with a special apperance by Stan Lee

The Fall: May 9th (in select theaters)

Genre: Drama, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Adaptation, and War

MPAA Rating: R (for some violent images)

Starring: Lee Pace, Catinca Untaru, Justine Waddell, Daniel Caltagirone, and Leo Bill

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian: May 16th

Genre: Adventure, Family, Fantasy

MPAA Rating: PG (for battle sequences and frightening moments)

Starring: Tilda Swinton, Liam Neeson (voice), Warwick Davis, Eddie Izzard (voice), Ben Barnes, Peter Dinklage, William Moseley, Georgie Henley, Anna Popplewell, and Skandar Keynes

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull: May 22nd

Genre: Action, Adventure

MPAA Rating: This film is not yet rated

Starring: Harrison Ford, Karen Allen, Cate Blanchett, Shia LaBeouf, John Hurt and Ray Winstone

Responses

  1. Well positively based on my spare funds, Iron Man and Indiana Jones are at the top of my list. Now I’ve got the Iron man theme song in my head hehe. I can play that on trumpet too 🙂 I know..i’m WEIRD. 🙂

  2. I’m not watching any movies till I get done with exams.

    I want to see 21, Shutter, The Visitor, and Pathology.

  3. 21 looks really good, I thought about seeing it in theaters but figured I could wait for DVD.

    Shutter looks ok, I could not justify seeing it in theaters though but will rent it.

    Pathology looks interesting, It seems worth renting and I bet Ara would LOVE it hehe.

    The Visitor looks a little depressing but I would watch it if someone rented it or I got it for free.

  4. hehehe. Yeah, I think I would like Pathology. Plus, I’ve had the perfect murder figured out for years, although I would never commit murder LOL. All you need is a really large icicle hehe 🙂

    As for 21, I am really not into blackjack or poker at all..so I’ll probably pass it up LOL. I’ll have to look at reviews for the other 2 though.

  5. An icicle? why is that?…. not that I could commit murder either it just intrigues me.
    I LOVE playing cards. I learned how to play poker at 9! great parents huh lol 😉
    You and 6mile working on the info I need? I hope so cause people have been clicking on the links and all I have listed is “Coming Soon” lol… not to be pushy lol oh and AHEM you and 6mile have not added any new blogs to your own sites lately..tisk tisk!!!

  6. Because, you could melt the evidence/murder weapon down the sink..a little bleach goes a long way LOL. I know I know LOL. I am working on it, I just needed some extra time to exercise off the bad stuff this week. I’m off work tomorrow, so I’ll try to finish it up tomorrow 🙂

  7. I’m sorry WmWb. 😦 I’ve just been busy. I have a lot of work to catch up on. My mind has kind of a brain freeze. My posts usually take 15 – 20 min to write so I will conjure something up… soon 😛

    You will be seeing a lot of posts from me come May. I’ve thought of talking on a lot of movies just not finding zone for it to flow… yet!

  8. Hmm logging that away!!!! j/k

    6mile – it is ok lol just giving y’all a hard time…for the most part hehehe

  9. Hehe, WmWB, I emailed you about my info for the scientist. Also, I saved a movie draft for your review 🙂

  10. 🙂

  11. I also think I am going to have to see The Ruins! It looks like kinda creepy like The Cave turned out to be..but I hope they do a good job!

  12. Ah The Ruins did not appeal to me. I did not like the movie The Cave. If you see it you will have to let me know. Oh I sent you and 6mile requests to add Flixster for the MCT.

  13. I liked the trailer of the ruins, until mid way ….if felt drab after that, very much reminding me of the cave

  14. OOOOOOH!!! I just saw a trailer for The Happening by M. Night Shyamalan. I LOVEEEE his movies! I can’t wait..but it doesn’t come out until FRIDAY June 13..muahhaha …sorry hehe 🙂

  15. I cant wait to see The Happening , either :))

  16. I’m so waiting for batman gotham knight and wall-e

  17. I have lost my interest in him. I want to see the Happening but I am afraid of being let down AGAIN. M. Night Shyamalan started off so strong with his first three movies and then his next three have stunk..

  18. Batman Gotham Knight and Wall-E are on my MUST see list for June/July I believe.

  19. DEFINTELY BATMAN. I really liked Christian Bale’s portrayal of Batman. He did an excellent job in it.

    As for M. Night Shyamalan, at first, I didn’t really like Signs, but it has grown on me. I really was not that impressed with Unbreakable though. As for Lady in the Water, the movie was very deep, yet, strange. But I did like The Village and The Sixth Sense. The Happening looks exciting though!

  20. Yes I love the new Batman redo. Do not get me wrong I LOVED the two Tim Burton did too.

    I thought Unbreakable was not bad but weird, my husband LOVED it. We both LOVED 6th Sense and really liked Signs. I HATED the Village and so did the 7 other people who went with me to see it in the theater. I did not even watch Lady in the Water after my friend said it also blew. I will probably wait to hear word on The Happening before spending the cash.

  21. Most people are disappointed, when they realize there is nothing in the village, no fantasy like lady in the water. I think he built the suspense really well, and then broke it.

  22. Thanks wmwb it looks fine to me.

  23. Well, see, when I first saw Signs I was disappointed, but the more I saw it, the more I liked it. The Village I just liked because it came from a unique aspect. The idea of what it would be like to turn back time and live like our relatives used to… I always wondered how you could do it, if you wanted to do it LOl. So it just seemed like a play on an idea I had already thought about a couple of times. Which ones did Tim Burton do? I guess I didn’t realize he had done some of the batmans. I think I did like the one with Michael Keeton..but changing actors for Batman each time ruined it for me it seems..

  24. The thing about The Village was it was SO suspenseful leading all the way up to the end and the whole time I am thinking it better not be BLAH BLAH BLAH (left out for spoiler purposes) and sure enough it was BLAH BLAH BLAH… DUMB. I am with you on the what it would be like to live like that I think of that too.

    Tim Burton did Batman and Batman Returns (both had Michael Keaton in them). After Batman Returns a new director took over and so did the lead role and I think that happened for each other Batman movie. I was so upset that they butchered them after the first two. I think that is one reason I was so ok with the new Batman’s because it is a darker and has a new and different take on it.

  25. Yes, definitely. Okay, that explains WHY after the 1st two Batmans (Batman and Batman Returns), it just got plain dorky. Don’t get me wrong, I LIKE colors, but the one with Poison Ivy and all the psychodelic colors was nauseating. Michael Keeton I think could really done well as a dark knight series that they are showing now, but I am glad they have Christian Bale. He has that… soft spoken, not too excited about much side that says you never know what he’s thinking… actually a LOT like me LOL. Mom refers to it as cold and calculating.. I prefer to say just thinking things out..

  26. Now I LIKE this background! It is perfect for this!

  27. lol yea like Jim Carrey as The Riddler….sigh….

    Glad you like the new layout. It took me a while to figure one out. I did not want to use one that is used by one of the other blogger’s pages I frequent. I also went through MANY different picture ideas for the top banner but went with this cause I thought it fit in well.

  28. It looks too white, liked all the other layouts 😉 hehe

  29. I also thought it was so white but livable due to the lack of options (for free ones).
    How about this, I either use your layout or CBCs layout for our’s here. If I use yours then you change yours at your site LMAO. 🙂

  30. alrighty WmWb, you use mine and I’ll choose another one, done deal !

  31. you guys are a hoot

  32. hahaha


Leave a Reply

Categories

