Posted by: ara0062 | March 26, 2008

“Michael Clayton”

This is the synopsis for Michael Clayton that I found online from http://imdb.com/title/tt0465538/synopsis .

“Middle-aged lawyer Michael Clayton (George Clooney) is a “fixer” who clears up complex or dirty cases on behalf of corporate clients. But he has a number of personal and professional problems. His family life is messy; he’s a lone parent, his brother has run up large debts, he’s struggling with a gambling problem, his career appears to be going no where and he has become tired of fixing other people’s mistakes. An old friend and colleague, Arthur Edens (Tom Wilkinson), has been working on an important case on behalf of a large client for eight years but the case is not going well and his friend’s behavior is causing concern. Clayton is called in to fix the problem.”

I didn’t want to give away the ending, so that part of the synopsis I deleted… so you’ll just HAVE to watch it!

I give this movie 4 1/2 stars. I thought it was really awesome.. yet the scary part is,  it is based on a true story. My mother and I speculated that UNorth (the large client) was actually supposed to be ‘Union Carbine’. Not too far a stretch I don’t think. You MUST pay attention to the movie the ENTIRE time because if you do not, you’ll not know what IS happening by the end.

Also, George Clooney just fits the role of corporate playboy on one side.. yet a caring and loving father on the other. It is definitely a different kind of role for him.. at least in my opinion.


Responses

  1. I watched this movie (only once) I liked the suspense aspect of the movie (and knowing it is based on something real) but it was pretty predictable to me. Do not get me wrong the movie wasn’t bad. I would only rate it 3 1/2 stars though.

  2. I like movies like this, it kind of reminded me too of the Erin Brockavich movie. Taking on the big guys..guns blazing hehe 😉

  3. Sooo many movies, so little time 😦

  4. I never watched Erin Brockovich. My husband said it was good though and I LOVE Julia Roberts so maybe when I finally rent Magnolia I will rent that too 😉


Leave a comment

Categories