Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | March 30, 2008

Two Movies – One Night!

I keep telling myself and everyone else for some time now that I will go and rent Magnolia. Recently, I also added Erin Brockovich to the list. Last night I decided it would be then that I would rent them…. until I spoke to my husband and his mom, who vetoed the idea. They both have seen those movies before and said “they weren’t all that good” and “Magnolia was odd”. I was pretty sure my husband had told me he liked Erin Brockovich but APPARENTLY I was “remembering things incorrectly… again”.

So instead of those two movies (which I will rent EVENTUALLY) I rented Feast of Love and Awake.

Awake

Genre: Drama/Thriller

MPAA Rating: R (for language, an intense disturbing situation, and brief drug use)

Plot: While undergoing open heart surgery, a man’s failed anesthia leaves him completely alert, but paralyzed and unable to tell his doctors (this is called anesthetic awarenss)

Starring: Hayden Christensen, Jessica Alba, and Terrence Howard

Awake was an ok movie. It had really good actors/actresses in it and the acting was good too but since I had read the synopsis on the back cover (which spells out the plot) it was pretty obvious what has going on. There were a few times when I was just a tad off but I pretty much pegged everything. If I had not read the back cover I would have said 4 stars but since I did read it I will have to say 3 stars. It is worth seeing just don’t read the back cover!

Feast of Love 

Genre: Drama/Romance

MPAA Rating: R for strong sexual content, nudity and language.

Plot: Eight couples, four uncouplings, two weddings, two graves, an angry father, a grieving couple, love, sex, heartache, and a dog.  What is loves nature: blindness so we will make babies,  or is it everything? Will they discover the answer?

Starring: Morgan Freeman, Greg Kinnear and Selma Blair 

Feast of Love was a pretty good movie. If it weren’t for Morgan Freeman’s character I do not think the movie would have been a good. The movie was a bit hard to follow at times. I kept thinking “is this still in the past or is it the present or the future” because the story moves around some. It also follows quite a few couples and it goes back and fourth between them at times it is a little much too. It is kind of like a book that rotates different characters per chapter (I am not fond of this method). I would give this movie  3 1/2 stars. This movie has a lot of sex in it so I would not recommend watching it with anyone under 17.

Note: I did not add the movie trailers for either movie because they contain spoilers.. sigh what is the trailer making industry coming to! They should leave some things for guesswork!

Responses

  1. Ditto, I thoroughly agree. I just want a basic idea about what the movie is about, not the total plot and ending too LOL.

  2. I’ve seen the trailer for both these movies,um I wanna see Awake, seems nice. I hope there is a twist in the story.

  3. Awake does have twists but they are pretty easy to guess it is not like The Departed or Lucky Number Slevin where you do not see it coming. You should see it though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

