Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | April 20, 2008

“The Forbidden Kingdom”

I listed this movie on the April/May coming soon to theaters list as a maybe. 

Today I was fairly bored so of course I chose to go see a movie. I found there was not too much out so I chose this one. My expectations were not uber high today; I just wanted to be entertained and not have to read subtitles (I was in a lazy mood). I was very pleased to find the movie very entertaining and it had a minimal amount subtitles… there were a few times at the beginning I could have used them but I guess whatever was being said was not that important or else they would have added them???

The movie had a LOT of action, at times almost too much for my eyes to take in! The choreography was brilliant but then again, I have not found a Jet Li or Jackie Chan movie that is otherwise. The Storyline was very interesting and the special effects were awesome! The filming locations (once the character was in “The Forbidden Kingdom” in China) were beautiful! I am pretty positive most of the backdrop is CGI due to how wonderful everything looked (but since I have never been to China I am not certain). I cannot say if I liked the music/score because I cannot recall hearing any (though I am sure there was some). I do know I liked the sounds used for the effects!

For Jackie and Jet’s first movie together they sure did play well off of each other. I hope this will not be their last movie together. I thought the supporting roles did a great job too. The acting was pretty good (I thought all except the lead boy did great) and the fighting was superb!

I give this movie 4 stars. *I think it is worth seeing but because of the speed and quantity of martial arts action I do not know if I will buy it but I will most definitely watch it again!

*I get very bad motion sickness especially with sudden camera movements.

Responses

  1. 10 days to go , and then i get busy movie watching, this film included 😛

  2. WOOHOO!

  3. You all amaze me with the number of movies you have seen! I dont think I have seen any reviewed so far, thats why I didnt comment much.

    This one does sound interesting but I, too, have trouble with alot of camera movement and special effects. I might see when it comes to video. My hubby is the movie fanatic here(and the kiddo). He and I are so opposite, hehe.

  4. aww it is ok but you should watch more movies they are such a great way to get away from everyday stress plus helps with boredom. LOL

  5. A couple of friends of mine saw this on the weekend and loved it. They said it was non-stop, action-packed and thoroughly enjoyable. They loved the stunts from both the martial arts experts, Jackie Chan and Jet Li. I can’t wait to see it myself, I usually enjoyed movies with lots of martial arts…especially if they seem realistic. Both are REALLY talented actors and have my total respect!

  6. hee hee
    you know Ang is going to be all over this one. But we wait for everything to come out on DVD. 🙂

  7. Yea I can see Ang LOVING this movie! Nice to see you over here FINALLY! I know you do not get to watch as many movies as me but maybe if you get to read about them it might make you more interested in them? OMG I just thought of The Lost Boys quote: “If you have a T.V. Guide you don’t need a T.V.”

    Oh remember that comedian Eddie Izzard I had you guys watch over at my house? Well we are going to see his new standup show on the 2nd of May YAY!

  8. The last movie I saw in the theater was 3:10 to Yuma. I freaking LOVED it. But before that, I hadn’t been to a movie theater since Ang and I were dating. So it’s been many years. You are the movie queen. 😉

  9. I saw 3:10 to Yuma I thought it was a good movie and I gave it 4 stars.

    Wow I cannot believe you hadn’t seen a movie in the theater since then man I would DIE hahaha.

  10. 3:10 to Yuma was really good. Esp for a remake 🙂 Plus Christian Bale isn’t bad too look at 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

