Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | April 28, 2008

“Juno”

On , my recent rental spree I rented Juno (as well as many others you will see reviews for in the upcoming days). I had heard from a couple of friends that the movie was cute, good, and entertaining. I was still skeptical due to my previous fiasco with horrid rentals. I think what scared me the most about renting it is the fact that it was another Critically Acclaimed “Academy Award Winner” movie. If you have been reading the blog for a while I am sure you know what I am speaking about if not you can get up to speed by clicking here.

If you have no idea what Juno is about, well, it is about a teenage girl (Ellen Page – she is a newcomer but did a wonderful job acting in this movie) who gets pregnant and is faced with the decision to keep, abort, or give away her baby. Yes, my plot synopsis is vague and sounds kinda lame but I assure you the movie is so much more than I could list here.

I am pleased to say that I not only liked the movie, I loved it! It felt very original. I connected with the all of the characters. I laughed and I cried. The only thing I did not like about the movie was the score. The music drove me bonkers; it was very weird and very annoying, yet it was catchy at the same time… I fond myself wanting to shoot myself over the music but I looked down and noticed I was tapping my leg to the music! Oh and I loved the movie Thank You for Smoking which incidentally was done by the same guy!

The MPAA Rating for this movie is: PG-13 (for mature thematic material, sexual content and language)

I think this movie is a must see and I give it 5 stars! I feel I have redeemed myself as far as movie picking goes. I will still have to hear from someone I know before seeing those certain movies!

Responses

  1. I liked one of the phrases from the movie, although I haven’t seen it yet. It was this, Vanessa Loring: Your parents are probably wondering where you are.
    Juno MacGuff: Nah… I mean, I’m already pregnant, so what other kind of shenanigans could I get into?

    I think that is hilarious, esp since I have heard other unwed teenage mothers when I was in high school say comments like that. Sad in a way!

  2. Oh yea there were a lot of good phrases lol and that one made me laugh haha. It is sad though that a lot of people in real life think/feel that way. Do they not realize that it is not just pregnancy their parents worry about. Lets see there is death and drugs to name a few (and both can happen when you are pregnant).

  3. i assumed Juno was directed by the same guy that directed Knocked Up, because it’s about pregnancy and Michael Cera stars as Juno’s boyfriend, but alas this this not the case. all in all the movie had in interesting/unique style

  4. I watched this movie this past weekend and loved it. Although, I have to agree with you about the musical score and I found myself in the same boat. I hated the music, but it was kind of catchy.

    I kind of felt the same about Darjeeling Unlimited. I couldn’t get that one song out of my head….’Where Do You Go To, My Lovely’…man, I laughed at that song at first…the lyrics, but then I kind of liked it.

  5. Wurdygirl I have never heard of Darjeeling Unlimited. It reminds me of something Buzz Lightyear says in one of the Toy Story movies.

  6. I’ve seen DU at the movie store the last couple of times I’ve been up there. I think it’s supposed to be a comedy about some brothers or guys that go to India to bond or something. Anyway, through their misadventures with not knowing Indian culture, they end up with some office equipment ?, I think that was what it said, in the desert. I want to say I saw Owen Wilson on the cover.

  7. Ah Ara you are correct. Even though it has Owen Wilson in the movie, it did not look appealing to me.

  8. I did see darjeeling limited. It was a really dumb movie but sorta funny in its ridiculousness. Just always made you think “what ARE they doing?!”… if you like that sorta thing.

  9. DU was pretty funny. It’s about three brothers and their misadventures traveling in India for their father’s funeral.

    The best part about renting that DVD was that I saw a movie for ‘Death at a Funeral’ during the previews and got interested in that. So, I rented that one the next weekend. I laughed so hard!!! It has to be one of the better movies I’ve seen lately.

    I’d definitely recommend ‘Death at a Funeral’ over DU.


Leave a Reply

Categories

