Posted by: 6mile | May 5, 2008

“21” Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

Movie Poster

There are two types of engineers in this World. The first are ordinary joes, these are the ones who do it just to push the envelope, also know as “gaining a high”. The second is Ben Campbell (played by Jim Sturgess), who sets the benchmarks.

Black Jack

The concept of get it at any costs, excites me a lot. Ben is shown as a university dork who spends his time making a life for himself, with the dream of getting into Harvard. The movie is highly fictionalized to Hollywood’s celluloid standards, but it is inspired by the MIT black jack team 

The movie kept me hanging on the edge of my seat, it was a fun watch and it flowed like melting butter. It was filled with suspense, a solid plot line, funny scenes, and a stellar ending. The climax of the film was awesome! Take a gamble and see this movie.

Responses

  1. I am glad you liked it. I debated going to see it but decided against it due to funds. I will see it when it comes out on DVD now!

  2. I will probably do the same

  3. This was a great film! Not as good as Rounders, but still pretty damn good. Go and see it if you get the chance.

  4. I am pretty sure I did not like Rounders.. I will have to rent it and watch it again because it has been so long since I watched it (and I know I only watched it once)

  5. I loved playing black jack, car games were such a To Do ! thing as a kid

  6. It’s alright, I’m not much into blackjack or poker. I do like spades though, um, and since yes, I do count cards *UNINTENTIONALLY,* I am rather good at spades. I also like gin rummy as well.

  7. I love rummy , it used to be so much fun, my parents decided to try bridge and I never learned it. My mind goes on auto pilot, while playing games,hehe.

  8. I learned how to play poker (spades) for money at 8 lol great parents I had hahaha. 😉 My favorites are: Follow the Bitch (I think it is really called chase the Queen -or something like that), Spades, Hearts and Texas Hold ’em. As I kid I loved gin rummy, War, blackjack and Go fish.

    I look back at my childhood, I played outside the most, I also played a lot of card games, board games, and some video games. Kids today I think are the total opposite. Maybe if things went back to being simplier so would life??? I hate hearing of kids shooting up schools, malls, etc… sad.

  9. I forgot about war, I liked it too, althought I am not sure I even remember how to play it LOL. I learned to play spades in high school LOL. Actually, we played a LOT of cards in high school. Not for money or anything, but our Spanish teacher started it. We would have a card day, and would only be allowed to play if we used our Spanish to do so. So then, people just got to carrying cards around, and in their free time playing games 🙂

  10. lol see what I mean though much simpler

  11. I must disagree with the author. This movie was too predictable and the script was just sloppy, like halfway written. But, good directing, good acting. 5/10

  12. Ultimateworrier- You are allowed to disagree that is the beauty of it. The three of us here often disagree on how many stars we would give a movie. That is one reason I asked the Ara (The Scientist) and 6mile (The Guru) to co-author the blog to allow variety! As far as star rating goes we use a 5 star rating here so you would say a 3 then? Thanks for the comment and btw I love that name!

  13. of course the movie was predictable, its a fictionalized account of a true life story.

  14. 6mile- It can be predicable if you know the real story, but i didnt, and it was still. If a movie is about real life it doesnt mean youll be forecasting the whole movie. Think about “Fear and loathing in Las Vegas”, did you know whats going to happen? Well, maybee ive just seen too many mediocre movies like 21 and im doing it injustice, whining about obvious. We all have diferent tastes and thats one of the things for me that distinguish a good movie from an average one. 3/5
    whiteymcwheatbread- Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

