Posted by: 6mile | May 14, 2008

The Dark Knights

Over the last few days I’ve been watching a ton of movies, among them are three movies, with very similar themes.

First up, The Boondock Saints. The movie tells the story of two multilingual brothers who when faced by extraordinary circumstances come out on top. Locked in a cell they gain enlightenment and set out to cleanse this world of evil, there is a funny man to help them on their way.  They rattle the mafia, who aim to get back at them. I felt the movie could have been made a lot better, especially the parts where they defy mathematical odds to come out on top. It almost feels comical for a movie for so much shooting and killing in it.

The next in line was The Departed. I was anticipating a memorable movie. The start did not disappoint, Jack Nicholson giving a stellar performance, I have to say I haven’t seen DiCaprio act so well since What’s Eating Gilbert Grape, but it kind of fell flat mid way. There was hardly any plot and the twist was so predictable. Every one shoots each other in the end, but one hardly got into the characters’ shoes.

Finally, I saw Shooter, All I knew about Shooter was, It was an presidential espionage. Two best buddies in the line of fire, one loses the other, a la “Top Gun”, just when I thought it could not get any worse, It actually got better and better. The FBI agent deciphers the setup and the sniper gains upper ground. The movie was enjoyable for the most part. The climax turned out a bit too cheesy for me.

Maybe I’m becoming more and more selective or maybe movies are becoming too predictable to be enjoyable?

Responses

  1. OUCH….. I have to say reading your review HURT! I LOVE The Boondock Saints and The Departed lol (I own both of them). Shooter was not bad (I do not own it though).

  2. haha, wmwb, diffrent folks diffrent strokes. Maybe, they are not to high on my list because I’ve seen almost simmilar movies in telugu 😉

  3. lol yea. Perhaps that is why! I think also it is very easy for me to get into characters’ shoes and I find myself getting absorbed in the movies.

  4. The only one of these I have seen is The Departed. I liked it though, I thought it was pretty good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

