Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | May 25, 2008

“Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”

This film like every other Indy film (Indiana Jones that is) can be summed up in a little hum!

Da Da Dum Dum,

Da Da Da,

Da Da Dum Dum,

Da Da Da Da Dum!

But if that is not a good enough review for you, I will go more into detail!

As those of you who have been around for a while know, I do not like to give away spoilers, so… if you were coming here to read just what the movie is about, you will need to go to another site because, you will not find that here (or at least not in my review).

For any of the film’s info. (i.e. cast, MPAA rating, etc..) please view my previous post titled: 

April/May 2008.

Plot: “Famed archaeologist/adventurer Dr. Henry ‘Indiana’ Jones Jr. is called back into action when he becomes entangled in a Soviet plot to uncover the secret behind mysterious artifacts known as the Crystal Skulls.” (Provided by imdb.com).

This movie was HIGHLY anticipated (on my part) but like a good wife 😉 I chose to be selfless and let my husband go last night with our friend to see the movie… and of course when my husband returned he HAD to tell me the plot. I was not upset by this (even though he does this EVERY time he goes to the movies without me). I think I actually have gotten so use to it I enjoy it now!

Anyway, his review was “The movie was bad ass”… This is the part that made me mad. Why you ask? Well, because that made me turn into an ugly green monster (no I am not speaking of the Hulk… btw the new movie looks really good) yea you know the green one I speak of, envy. Yep, that’s the one! So immediately, I formed a plan! Ok so I didn’t but I must have had karma on my side (you know for being so selfless) because my mother in-law volunteered to go with me to see it today (which was a shocker) and my husband said yes to staying home to watch the kids so I could go (which was another shocker).  So my plan that I had not planned actually worked out!

I got to the theater and it was already almost packed full but somehow I still managed to get the perfect seat! I ran out, grabbed my consessions (read: expensive feast), and hauled butt back just in time for the previews. There was a cute one for WALL·E, one for Hellboy II; which was not bad, One for Hancock; which was much better than the last one I saw, oh and there was one for a movie called “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”; which looked interesting, but besides that nothing else really jumped out at me.

The movie started out how just as you (or any person who has previously watched an Indiana Jones movie) would expect. From there the movie takes off for a great ride. As a movie goer you had better hold on because there is a lot of edge of your seat action! On the trip you will see some familiar faces (both human and beast). If you are careful, you will also be able to get some much needed background information (such as what has been going on from the last Indiana Jones movie until now). Just like each of the other Indy movies it felt very authentic to the time and to the knowledge they were portraying. The movie ends much like many other movies I have seen but it was still a great ending!

I think this movie did the Indiana Jones legacy great justice. I would definitely recommend everyone to go see it in the theater and to buy it (on Blu-ray) when it comes out! Of course I give it 5 stars and if they choose for some reason, to make another Indy movie I would most certainly go see it! Two thumbs up for Steven Spielberg’s directing skills and George Lucas’ writing skills (not that I do not already admire their work) and also a great big pat on the back for the actors/actresses who worked on the movie for a great performance!

A blog that I frequent (no I do not know the blog owner personally) reviewed Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull too so I thought I would put a link to that for those of you (like me) who like more than one opinion. Click here to visit ‘My Strange Blog’ for his review.

Responses

  1. Well…. I was just a tad bit disappointed, but overall, I liked the movie. I felt they were REALLY trying to push the son as the soon-to-be new Indiana Jones instead of just letting Indy do his thing LOL. But other than that, it was great!

  2. It was just like any other Indiana jones, a fun ride all the way, but in the end it kinda felt just the same, not special

  3. Indeed. I do not think it was supposed to feel “special” I think they were going for “the same”.

  4. Oh..it was great except for the ANTS! Did I mention I have a bug phobia…well at least to the stinging, biting insects. My friends kept laughing because I kept covering my eyes..I was seriously freaked out by that mass amount of ants..AGHHHHH! hehe

  5. Oh, but I did like how they portrayed where the crystal skulls came from and what they looked like.. THAT was original and loved it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

