Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | June 2, 2008

Who’s eating salmon and who’s eating crow?

I know I said I would not be seeing this particular movie because I did not care for the show but in the end did I end up eating those words?

Let me go back a few days, you know, when the change of heart took place. Ok, so it was Friday, and I get this call from my MIL, who said she REALLY wanted to go to see Sex and the City (she liked the show) but she had no one to go with. Well, the sensitive person I am felt bad for her and I ended up offering my companionship for the movie. I did tell her in advance that I did not like the show and I had no intentions of seeing it (read: I was doing it for her).

The movie is rated R anyway but I would not recommend anyone who is uncomfortable with foul language or sex (and a lot of it) to see it.

The movie had a few tears and a lot of laughs…. and then there was the sex… let’s not forget about that!

I will have to admit I was greatly surprised at how much I enjoyed the movie. I was pondering why I liked the movie so much but hated the show… I came to the conclusion that when I tried watching the show, I was a different person than I am now and the movie (versus the show) and myself are both in a different chapter of “our” lives. 

For those of you who have seen the movie, I will be doing a lot of “coloring” later! For those of you who haven’t seen it yet, if you haven’t gotten it yet, you will get it later. 😉

So, (referencing my opening question) if you have not figured it out, I did end up eating my words. It just goes to show me that sometimes even I am wrong HAHAHAHAHA. I give the movie 4 1/2 stars!

Responses

  1. Glad to hear you liked it!!!! I really want to see it(for once). So much that Im tempted to go to the theatre! Although I dont think its worth the price, but I dont feel like waiting till its out on video and Ive heard all the spoilers. 😐

  2. I know Im late but thought I would chime in….

    I saw the movie! I loved the show, and its rare when I follow a tv series but we would watch the reruns of it on TBS every single week. My hub actually started watching it first and thats how I ended up giving it a go. I always thought it would be too cliche and basely sexual for my taste but it wasnt, not at all. I found it was much more about the complexity of women and what they want and obviously, men too, and the relationships. I loved the inner dialogue.

    I was excited to see the movie but for me it was a big let down. I found it way too “movie-ish”, not as well written as the show, and with no inner dialogue. I couldnt believe how they were shrieking around like school girls which didnt at all match their parts in the tv version.

    I guess I would give it 2 1/2 stars, and that half is just because I loved S&C so much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

