Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | June 7, 2008

“The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian”

I have been sitting on this post since opening day of the movie so I figured I should go ahead and post it. I feel I must say sorry for not posting it sooner especially because I loved the movie… and of course I plan on buying it on Blu-ray when it is released! 

Ok so those of you who do not know, the movie did not follow the book 100% but I already figured it wouldn’t. Most Hollywood movie adaptations don’t and I am ok with that as long as the movie stays true to the essence of the story (which this movie did).

The actors who play the Pevensie children did a much better job acting than they did in the first one but the actor who played Caspian could have done a little extra with his role and some of the other characters (such as the minotaurs) could have looked a bit better (read: more realistic). The action was the same if not more intense that LWW and despite its flaws the movie left me wanting more!

Advice from me regarding seeing this movie? Go see it in the theater if for nothing else but battles and the beautiful CGI work BUT remember those of you who have seen the book do not hold the book over the movie’s head but instead treat it as a separate entity. If you can do that I think you will really like the movie.

I cannot wait until The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader comes out in 2010! If Disney can time the movies release a bit better (referring to PC being released back to back with Iron Man and Indiana Jones). If the director can maintain the book’s essence and if the actors can hold the audience then I see no reason the movie will not do well. Either way I will be seeing the third installment in the theater as well.

I give Prince Caspian 4 stars!

Responses

  1. Well, fortunately for me, I only read LWW. Our library did not contain the full set growing up, so I never got to read the rest. So I sure me relatively satisfied. I think if I remember correctly, the guy that played Prince Caspian was on Jay Leno one night and said it was his first major picture to act in. Hopefully he’ll become a great actor because he is awfully cute. I can’t wait to see the movie, but I am waiting until Thursday when I can get in for cheap 🙂

  2. I really liked this movie too – especially Reepicheep! The changes didn’t bother me too much – in the book, the Pensives and Prince Caspian only meet up near the end of the story, which would have made the telling of the story quite difficult in movie form. Once the filmmakers made the decision to have them meet sooner, most of the new plot followed rather naturally (except for the attack on the castle).

    I think Voyage of the Dawn Treader might make the best film of any of the Narnia books, so I’m looking forward to that film as well.

  3. Exactly how many books were there in the series of the Chronicles of Narnia? Someone told me there was also a book before the LWW book.

  4. I liked this movie a lot. I saw the penultimate part, prior to seeing this one. The mouse reminded me of Puss in Boots. A very enjoyable movie.

    I cant wait for the next movie to come out.

  5. Ara- There are 7 books total. The movies are following in the order in which the author (C.S. Lewis) wrote them but the book boxsets come in chronilogical order (which puts the Magician’s Nephew first).

    The next movie was perhaps my favorite book of the 7.. but they are all a great read and a very easy read too. I read 1 a day for a week.

    I am also looking forward to the next movie very much!

  6. Hmm, I may go to the library and check them out… I’m still a kid at heart hehe

  7. I have them lol if you lived closer you could have borrowed them LMAO

  8. j’ai aimer se film, sa ma entraîner dans un monde parallèle en m’emportent dans les personnage et je sais que je vais allez voir le chapitre 3.

    For those of you who do not speak French the poster says (loosely translated):

    I like the film because it involves me in a parallel world where the characters are carried & I know I will go see part 3.

  9. Ahhh.. I am glad you could translate that hehehe 🙂

    • LOL I try but I said LOOSELY though. 😉 Its hard to take something from one language into another. Somethings lose their meaning & translate oddly.

  10. LOL, very much so.. it is like that with Spanish/English as well lol. Especially if listening to a song in Spanish.. something so beautiful can sound very.. idiotic if you literally translate it into English LOL

  11. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the structure for your weblog.
    Is this a paid topic or did you modify it your self? Either way keep up the nice high
    quality writing, it is uncommon to see a great weblog
    like this one nowadays..

    • Thank you. This blog is just my thoughts… I am not paid for anything on here. Actually I forgot about this blog until your comment came in. I guess I should start sharing my views again. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

