Posted by: 6mile | June 18, 2008

The Adorable Forrest Gump

Tom Hanks

Forrest Gump is the most lovable person I have ever seen in a movie. It brings me a tear to my eye when I just think back to the day I watched the movie for the first time as an 11 year old boy. I feel very annoyed when people say he was a dumb bloke who just happened to be at the right place at the right time. He finds himself in the center of all major events that happened in the US, but is totally oblivious to it as he goes on with life making a difference in the lives of everyone concerned.

It tells the story of a guy who can teach all of us very important lessons in life, Gump almost seems like a Zen monk, not losing his innocence through out. Remaining the most humble in the most troubled of circumstances. Tom Hank delivers more heroic punch in this single movie than all the Rambo films combined. Its a sweet movie which can teach kids about honoring people we know, respecting the ones we love, to be selfless when the occasion arises. In this age of fast track love, you feel the romance between Jenny and Gump grow. The chemistry lingers on to the end, I just wish they had a happy ending.

Ordinary people always seem to be in pursuit of what we think is pseudo perfection. In his innocence Gump is always led by an inner sense of right and displays godliness in every little action. Real life makes us choose, it forces us to make choices which we know is now always right Or does it really, our destiny is after all in out hands. If a so called dimwitted Forrest can do it, so can all of us.

A truly magnificent film! A fable that can never be topped.

FOrest Gump

Responses

  1. I *love* Forrest Gump. It’s definitely one of my favorite movies of the ’90s and I agree–Gump is such a lovable character! I’ve never seen a character that was so genuine and caring. :]

  2. Life’s like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get…

  3. Yes even though it is not in my collection of movies I do think it was a great one.

    6mile- thanks for posting a new review. Real life has been trying this month (and it is only half done… June is uber packed and busy for me).

  4. Forrest is one of my most favorite movie characters, April ! Maybe the most influential fictional movie person in my life.

    It sure is ara ;). Thats what makes it so exciting.

    All of us have been MIA in action lately, hehe. Take your time 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

