Posted by: ara0062 | July 23, 2008

“The Bucket List”

I saw this movie in theaters a few months ago, and I really did enjoy it. It has its happy moments, and its sad. It teaches us to make sure we enjoy life because we never know what it will throw as a road bump in our pathway, or whenever it will end. It also tells us that we may just not be lucky enough to get that second chance in life…

Plot Synopsis: (courtesy of wikipedia.com)

“Blue-collar mechanic Carter Chambers and billionaire hospital magnate Edward Cole meet for the first time in the hospital after both have been diagnosed with cancer. They become friends as they undergo their respective treatments. Carter is a gifted amateur historian and family man who had wanted to become a history professor, but in his youth had been “broke, black, and with a baby on the way” and thus never rose above his job at the McCreath body shop. Cole is a corporate tycoon, eccentric loner, four times divorced, who enjoys nothing more than tormenting his personal valet/servant, Matthew, whom he calls Thomas. He quickly befriends Carter, making Matthew serve Carter as well as him and ordering his doctor to familiarise himself with Carter’s health. Both are diagnosed with a year or less to live. Carter begins writing a “bucket list,” or things to do before “he kicks the bucket.” After hearing he has less than a year to live, Carter wads it up and tosses it on the floor. Matthew comes in the next morning and picks it up with other things that are on the floor. Cole finds it among the items and reads it. Cole pushes Carter (by suggesting he add things like seeing the world, sky diving, “fun things,” etc.), and promises to finance the trip. Despite the protests of his wife, Virginia, Carter eagerly agrees.” And thus, their adventures begin…

Movie Genre: Adventure, Comedy, and Drama

MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for language, including a sexual reference.

Cast of Characters: Jack Nicholson as Edward Cole; Morgan Freeman as Carter Chambers; Sean Hayes as Thomas, aka Matthew; Beverly Todd as Virgina Chambers; Rob Morrow as Dr. Hollins; Alfonso Freeman (Morgan Freeman’s real-life son) as son Roger Chambers; and Rowena King as Angelica.

I thoroughly enjoyed this Rob Reiner film. I thought it was well written and well produced. Never before, at least to my knowledge, have such greats as Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson made a picture together. I think their work together was absolutely phenomenal. It was awesome enough to leave you thoroughly sad by the ending, wishing the movie had never got there. I would positively give this move 4 & 1/2 stars, although me being fans of both of theirs does help. Also, I must say that I loved Sean Hayes interaction with the two as well. I think Hayes showed a true potential to become an all-time great actor through further major motion pictures besides being a TV Series actor. In fact, I will leave off with a memorbable quote from the movie….

Thomas: “I am proud of you.”

Edward Cole: “Nobody cares what you think.”

Responses

  1. I didn’t see ther movie until a few weeks ago. I thought it was a bittersweet movie. It had a lot of messages in it but could have been a bit funnier because I cried a lot. I did like Sean Hayes in it. It is such a different side (besides the gay Will and Grace one).

  2. I agree, I think that is what I wanted to say, but couldn’t think of.. bittersweet. That is an excellent way of describing it.

  3. sounds a melodramatic movie to me 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

