Posted by: ara0062 | July 28, 2008

D.K. Pt. 2

Here is our second installment of reviews for The Dark Knight! You can view our first one here.

Well, I had one heck of a time watching The Dark Knight. I encourage anyone who has yet to see it, to do so as soon as possible. Even if there had been no previous Batman movies, this is one for the record books…

Plot Synopsis: (courtesy of imdb.com)

“Batman and James Gordon join forces with Gotham’s new District Attorney, Harvey Dent, to take on a psychotic bank robber known as The Joker, whilst other forces plot against them, and Joker’s crimes grow more and more deadly…”

MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and menace.

Cast of Characters: Christian Bale as Batman/Bruce Wayne; Heath Ledger as The Joker; Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent/Two-Face; Michael Caine as Alfred Pennyworth; Maggie Gyllenhaal as Rachel Dawes; Gary Oldman as Lt. James Gordon; Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox; Cillian Murphy as The Scarecrow; Chin Han as Lau; Monique Curnen as Detective Ramirez; Nester Carbonell as The Mayor; Eric Roberts as Salvatore Maroni; Ritchie Coster as The Chechen; Anthony Michael Hall as Mike Engel; and Ron Dean as Detective Wuertz.

I have to give this one 4 & 3/4 stars, the highest rating I have given to any movie as of yet… that I have reviewed. I did so because I really felt like the performances the actors gave in this movie were purely astounding. R.I.P. Heath Ledger, but he simply gave one hell of a performance as The Joker. I have to say, in my opinion, that I believe no one else could do such a fabulous job as he did in this movie, and that being said, I think he deserves any awards given to him. He went so deep into his character as to make you believe that he was a truly, pushed over the edge man, determined to loose chaos in a world that had done him wrong. Together with Christian Bale as the “Dark Knight,” this movie did not leave a single dull moment, leaving you to sit on the edge of your seats the entire film. I also have one more suggestion. If you can possibly see it in IMAX, do so…because this is how I saw it, and it was simply fantastic!     

Some of my favorite quotes from the movie, I feel the need to post..because if you think about it, they really do apply to life as we know it.

Batman: What did you do?
The Joker: I took Gotham’s white knight, and lowered him to our level. It wasn’t hard. Y’see, madness, as you know, is like gravity. All it takes is a little…push

The Joker: What does not kill you, makes you stranger!

The Joker: You’ll see, I’ll show you, that when the chips are down, these uh… civilized people, they’ll eat each other.

The Joker: You see, nobody panics when things go according to plan. Even if the plan is horrifying. If I told people that a gang-banger was going to get shot, or a busload of soldiers was going to get blown up, nobody would panic. Because it’s all part of the plan. But tell people that one tiny little mayor is going to die and everyone loses their minds! Introduce a little anarchy, you upset the established order, and everything becomes chaos. I am an agent of chaos. And you know the thing about chaos, Harvey? It’s fair.

The Joker: If you’re good at something, never do it for free.

Two-Face: You thought we could be decent men in an indecent world. But you were wrong; the world is cruel, and the only morality in a cruel world is chance.
[holds up his coin]

And I saved the best for last… the one to hold on to when you think all of your chips are down…

Harvey Dent: The night is darkest just before the dawn. And I promise you, the dawn is coming.

Responses

  1. Ahh ! ara , Im going to the theater soon. I have to see this movie as soon as possible.


Leave a Reply

Categories

