Posted by: ara0062 | January 27, 2009

“Twilight”

 

(courtesy of http://www.firstshowing.net/img/twilight-groupshot-big.jpg)

Synopsis: (courtesy of IMDB.com) Based on a book of the same title by Stephenie Meyer

“Bella Swan has always been a little bit different. Never one to run with the crowd, Bella never cared about fitting in ith the trendy, plastic girls at her Phoenix, Arizona high school. After her mother remarried, Bella chooses to go live with her father in the rainy little town of Forks, Washington, to give her mother her freedom, but Bella didn’t expect much of anything to change. But things do change when she meets the mysterious, dazzingly statuesque and God-like Edward Cullen. For Edward is nothing like any boy she has ever met and he IS nothing like anyone she has ever met before. Not only intelligent and witty, he seems to see straight into her soul. In no time at all, they are swept up in a passionate and decidedly unorthodox romance – unorthodox because Edward really isn’t like the other boys because Edward really isn’t like other boys.. he’s a vampire.”

MPAA Rating: Rated PG-13 for some violence and a scene of sensuality.

Genre: Thriller, Fantasy, Romance, Drama

Cast of Characters: (courtesy of IMDB.com)    Kristen Stewart as Bella Swan, Robert Pattinson as Edward Cullen, Billy Burke as Police Chief Charlie Swan, Ashley Greene as Alice Cullen, Nikki Reed as Rosalie Hale, Jackson Rathbone as Jasper Hale, Kellan Lutz as Emmett Cullen, Peter Facinelli as Dr. Carlisle Cullen, Elizabeth Reaser as Esme Cullen, Cam Gigandet as James, Taylor Lautner as Jacob Black, and Gil Birmingham as Billy Black.

Stars: 2 & 1/2

Okay, after I read the book.. finally, I have finished up my synopsis because I wanted to be honest how I felt when I compared the two… that being said, honestly, the movie did not do the book justice. Simply, the book is 10 times BETTER than the movie and does not leave you hanging and wondering about certain parts, plus gives you more to get lost in.. as I like to call it when getting wrapped up in a story. I truly believe the book may end up being one of those remembered for generations to come simply how well written it was. I am saying that coming from a university degree standpoint, not some googley-eyed teenager theory. I never had to re-read parts because I was confused, and never had to try to remember where I was because the book flowed sooo smoothly.. something the movie sorely lacked. I was confused at times, and although the end scene in the movie is that of prom, I was confused into thinking they were still talking about the same dance as mentioned in the front of the movie.. talk about confusion, but none needed from a reading standpoint. Also, for a teenage book series.. I am NOT embarassed to say I think I would enjoy this more from a young adult standpoint than any teenager would.. simply because of the trials and tribulations I have had to deal with in the “real world.” I will not really talk much about the book or the movie because I do not want to give it away for those who have yet to see either.. but if given a choice, SKIP THE MOVIE, READ THE BOOK!

Responses

  1. I liked twilight. It could have been made better, but as a kids movie, I was pretty pleased with it.

  2. I was not pleased with the movie. I think it was the director. I will probably see the sequel.. since the director was changed, dunno about in the theater or not.

    I did not read the book yet. I will though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

