Posted by: whiteymcwheatbread | February 7, 2009

An overview of 2009

So I am SO excited about this year’s movies (I am also excited about some for the following years too but they are still too far away). I wanted to give you a peek at the up and coming movies for 2009 that I am awaiting! The ones that are highlighted in RED are my MUST SEES!! *Remember this list is not a list of EVERY movie being released in 2009 just ones that I have my eye on.

Coraline – Feb 6th. Looks pretty good. Kinda dark and for a movie posing to be a children’s movie. It seems to be a bit like A Nightmare Before Christmas/A Corpse Bride style work but darker. Even though it is an animation movie it does not look like it would be one to take young children to. *Rated PG for thematic elements, scary images, some language and suggestive humor.

He’s Just Not That Into You – Feb 6th. I think this movie looks super good. The cast looks awesome. The trailers look fantastic. It is based on a book (I’ve never read it) apparently it is by the author of Sex and the City. The film is set in Baltimore, which is cool because that is only a hop, skip, and a jump away from me.. sadly, I did not know when it was happening to actually hop, skip, or jump on over there… Oh well, I guess I will go watch it in the theater!  *Rated PG-13 for sexual content and brief strong language.

Push – Feb 6th. How can you go wrong with a Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Thriller involving a shadowy government agency, genetic transformations, murders, and telekinetic powers? I do not think you can. *Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of violence and action, brief strong language, smoking and a scene of teen drinking … (seriously can we get any more detailed).

Confessions of a shopaholic – Feb 13th. Looks like one of those cutesy movies that you go to see with your girlfriend.. and by that I mean you BFF… but then again since it does release the day before Valentines it could be your Valentine’s Day Present to her (or him.. if that is what he is into). *Rated PG for some mild language and thematic elements.

Friday the 13th – If the title didn’t give it away.. it will be released on Friday Feb 13th :). Remake of an old classic. It seems to be the new trend. Since technology and budgets always seem to get better I like watch the remakes to see the difference especially since I was raised watching the originals.* Rated R

*Did you know A Nightmare on Elm Street is also being re-done? Yeah, and Billy Bob Thorton is playing Freddy. I do not know how I feel about that right now.. Only time will tell I guess. I am still terrified of Freddy. Which reminds me… NEVER let your 4 year old watch A Nightmare on Elm Street!

Race to Witch Mountain – March 13th. Also a re-make of an old Disney classic. I have never seen the original but my husband swears it was great. “The Rock” (Dwayne Johnson) Stars in it.. I do not know how I feel about that. It looks like it will an be interesting family movie for kids 6+ if nothing else. *Rated PG for sequences of action and violence, frightening and dangerous situations, and some thematic elements.

Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun LiFeb 27th. Could be a renter but then again could be really good.. I am still pretty unsure of this one but I was a huge fan of the video game and I liked Chun Li’s Character alot .. Though E. Honda and Blanka were my #1 and my #2 favorites. *Not Yet Rated (I’m guessing it will be PG-13).

Watchmen – March 6th. The trailers for this movie haven’t done anything for the movie… and I usually LOVE super hero/comic book (“graphic novel”) type movies. The only real reason I was attracted to this movie is because it was done by the same person who directed 300 (which is one of my favorite movies). *Rated R for strong graphic violence, sexuality, nudity and language.

Duplicity – March 20th. Julia Roberts + Clive Owen + Spy Movie = Intriguing! I just do not know if it is will be a must see in theaters.. No doubt I will eventually see it though! *Rated PG-13 for language and some sexual content.

I Love You, Man – March 20th. This one is sure to have some good laughs. I am just not sure if the laughs are going to start turning into the kind of laughs that Will Farrell’s movies have given me as of late…We will see and hope for the best!  *Rated R for pervasive language, including crude and sexual references.

The Accidental Husband – March 27th. This movie is sure to be the usual romantic comedy type of movie. A few laughs, maybe even a few tears (if you are like me). End the end some one ends up happy. I like those type of movies because it is not often in life that things usually turn out that way. It stars Uma Thurman, Colin Firth and Jeffery Dean Morgan *Rated PG-13 for some sexual content and brief strong language.

Monsters vs. Aliens March 27th. The trailers for this movie  have looked  very cute. It is by Dreamworks Animation Studio, the same people to bring you Shrek. I think it will be one the whole family will be able to enjoy! *Not Yet Rated (I am guessing either G or PG).

 

Fast and Furious – April 3rd. I was SO excited to see the trailer for this movie. It has the original cast.. not some spin off with Paul Walker (2 Fast 2 Furious) or Vin Diesel (Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift) but both of them back together the way it should be.. and both of the leading ladies too! YAY. *Not Yet Rated (Probably PG-13).

Observe and Report – April 10th. A dark comedy starring Anna Farris (who all too often is type casted) and Seth Rogan (who is going down the same path as Anna). I think the movie might have some good laughs and some one liners but probably not one to see in the theaters. *Rated R for pervasive language, graphic nudity, drug use, sexual content and violence.

State of Play April 17th.  Has a strong cast and was filmed like 10 minutes away from my house.. wth, why did I not know about this earlier.. I always miss out on watching them shoot movies. darn. The movie is a crime/drama/thriller. *Not Yet Rated (I think it will be either PG-13 or R).

The Soloist – April 24th. This movie looks very good but it also looks very sad. It is a DRAMA and I believe it is based on a real person. It pairs Jamie Foxx and Robert Downey Jr. together for I am sure a stellar performance! Remember to bring the tissues. *Rated PG-13 for thematic elements, some drug use and language.

Ghosts of Girlfriends Past – May 1st. Yet again Matthew McConaughey is back playing in a romantic comedy (another case of type casting??) but he does do it well so… yea. This time around it seems the story is a bit different. It seems he is visited by the ghosts of his past girlfriends who show him the past, present, and future… it is kind of a play on Charles Dicken’s The Christmas Story. *Rated PG-13 for sexual content throughout, some language and a drug reference.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine – May 1st. Wolverine is my favorite X-Men Character. I have high hopes for this movie! My only issue is I hear they added Cyclops as a teenager into the story.. If they can pull it off/explain it then I will be ok with it. *Not Yet Rated (I am going to say PG-13).

Star Trek – May 8th. Before you say it, no I am not a trekkie. I never watched the original Star Trek (the one with Capt Spock) ok I think I might have caught a re-run or two growing up. I think I might have watched a handful of the other one (the one with Capt Kirk). I did watch one or two of the movies when I was in middle school. I think they were the Enterprise ones.. What were they the Next Generation right? They weren’t bad (as I remember it). So I saw the trailers for this one and I am liking it a lot. I think too it is because of 2 things.. one, I love sci-fi stuff now and two, J.J. Abrams directed it (you probably know him from Lost – I do not watch Lost but I LOVE Fringe).  *Not Yet Rated (Probably PG or PG-13)

Angels and Demons – May 15th. Let me start by saying that even though I own The Da Vinci Code (I bought it without viewing it). I think it sucked had I not read the book I do not know if I would feel the same way. I am going to give this movie.. well, Ron Howard and Tom Hanks a second chance to do Dan Brown’s work some justice. This movie is the harder of the two to pull off, so we will see.  *Not Yet Rated (this movie better be at least PG-13.. one could hope for an R).

Terminator Salvation – May 22nd. I love me some Terminator! The first one was good the second one was my favorite, the third wasn’t bad either considering I have seen some trilogys get f-ed up. I think they have done pretty well with the legacy.. Even the Sarah Connor t.v. series isn’t that bad. I am thinking number 4 will be quite good. Oh and if you heard the crud about Christian Bale and his screaming fit.. yadda yadda… don’t let that stop you from seeing a movie.. Just like the Tom Cruise thing.. Remember the person as a person has nothing to do with their acting skills. *Not Yet Rated (PG-13 or R??).

 

UP – May 29th. All I have to say is one word: Pixar! But then again you know me, like I could just say one word! This movie looks awesome. I cannot wait to see it. The trailer had me laughing so much. My kids were also dying! We cannot wait to see it! *Rated G.

The Proposal – June 12th. Another Romantic Comedy the plot seems a little different than usual and this one stars Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds both of whom are great actors. *Not Yet Rated (… PG-13?)

The Taking of Pelham 123 – June 12th. A thriller about a subway hijacking in NYC, starring Denzel Washington, John Travolta, and James Gandolfini. *Rated R for violence and pervasive language.

The Year One – June 19th. If you read what I said about the movies “Observe and Report” and “I Love You, Man”, this movie will probably follow those lines. It is an action/comedy though and it has Jack Black in it. We shall see. I will probably wait to see it unless someone I know sees it first and says I have to see it in the theaters. *Not Yet Rated (I am going to go out on a limb here and say R).

Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen – June 26th. Of course I will be seeing this movie in theaters!!! The first one was bad a$$ so I am sure this one will be just as good, well it better be or I will be super mad. *Not Yet Rated (PG-13 most likely).

Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs – July 1st. I own both of the first two Ice Age movies. I must admit the first I liked much more than the second, I think a lot of it had to do with Queen Latifah’s character.. with her it is either hit or miss. I am hoping this third installment is better (than the second and as good if not better than the first even though Q.L. character is still in it). *Not Yet Rated (PG or G).

Public Enemies – July 1st. A crime/drama dealing with gangsters, staring Johnny Depp and Christian Bale.. I truly do not think I need to say more. *Not Yet Rated (almost definitely an R).

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – July 17th. Is there anyone who doesn’t see these in the theater? 🙂 I might even see it more than once! This is by far my MOST anticipated movie of 2009! *Rated PG for scary images, some violence, language and mild sensuality. (I am a little bummed to see a PG rating … sigh I was hoping for PG-13 for this one and an R for the final two installments – The last movie pt1&2 that is hmm oh well that is not going to keep me from going.)

All Good Things – July 24th. A drama/mystery, staring Kirsten Dunst and Ryan Gosling. Right now it seems like it will be watchable I just do not know if it is theater worthy. * Not Yet Rated (once again – Probably PG-13 or R).

G-Force – July 24th. I don’t know how good this movie will actually be but it is by Jerry Bruckheimer Films so it scores points there. The trailer looks cute which it is a good thing because since it is an animated movie my kids will beg me to go anyway. *Not Yet Rated (PG or G).

Orphan – July 24th. This movie looks creepy. The little girl in it gives me the kind of vibe the little girl from The Ring gives me. I have found I do not like watching scary movies as much anymore. They use to be my favorite. I will probably see it but I will probably skip seeing it on the BIG screen. *Not Yet Rated (Either PG-13 or R).

The Ugly Truth – July 24th. Another Romantic Comedy, this one has Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler. The plot sounds similar to “The Accidental Wife“. I thought it funny since I am a Grey’s Anatomy watcher that Katherine Heigl is in this movie and her former Beu in Grey’s is in The Accidental Wife… I think they should have been in this movie together and Gerard should have been in The Accidental Wife instead! *Rated R for sexual content and language.

Funny People – July 31st. Do not be fooled.. I am pretty sure that even though this is a Judd Apatow film it is not going to be like his other films. It is going to be a comedy/drama. He is going for a more serious movie with a bitter-sweetness to it. It could be good or bad due to the fact that Adam Sandler has a hard time doing serious acting. *Not Yet Rated (PG-13 or R).

G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra – Aug 7th. This looks neat. I use to watch the cartoon. I think they might have even made previous movies about G.I. Joe (I did not see them though). The trailers look good. I am excited to see this. I think all who grew up in the 80s are/should be. *Not Yet Rated (PG-R).

9 – Sept 9th. Another animation movie but this one looks like it will be more geared for teens and up. Its plot is: “a post-apocalyptic nightmare in which all of humanity is threatened” (taken from imdb.com). *Not Yet Rated (PG or PG-13).

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs – Sept 18th. Yet another animation movie. This was a book I read when I was younger. It was an ok book I guess, I have no grand memories of it. This one stars Anna Farris’ voice (along with some others). The plot of this movie is: “A scientist trying to solve world hunger encounters a problem of global proportions, as food begins to fall from the sky.” (taken from imdb.com). This movie seems like it might be a dud.. but it is another movie to take the kids to and since there is not much else to do with them at their age I figure why not. *Not Yet Rated (G-PG).

 

The Informant – Sept 18th. This Comedy/Crime/Drama/Thriller is directed by Steven Soderbergh and stars Matt Damon so it could be really good. *Not Yet Rated (PG-13 or R).

The Surrogates – Sept 25th.  This movie looks very interesting. It is a sci-fi/thriller and it is set in the future… and there are Robots (but I do not think these ones are nice). Bruce Willis stars in it. *Not Yet Rated (Probably PG-13).

The Stepfather – Oct 16th. A horror/thriller. It looks viewable but more like a redbox rental. This movie is a re-make of an old movie. The lead guy “the stepfather” I guess marries a wife (who already has a kid) and they do not measure up to his liking so he tries (or possibly succeeds in) killing them. *Not Yet Rated (R probably but maybe PG-13).

Where the Wild Things Are – Oct 16th. SUPER DUPER EXCITED about this movie.. don’t ask me why. I think it is just because it was one of my favorite books when I was a kid and now that I have children it is something that I will get to share with them. Spike Jonze directs the movie so I have faith that it will turn out wonderfully! *Not Yet Rated (most likely PG).

Amelia – Oct 23rd. I am not usually one to like biographies and dramas are ok at times but I usually steer away from them BUT I am actually semi-interested in this movie. I have always wondered about the life of Amelia Earhart and all that took place in it … so maybe that is why I am intrigued by this movie. *Not Yet Rated (could be from PG to an R).

A Christmas Carol – Nov 6th. I have always been a fan of the Charles Dickens novel and I have liked a lot of the movies they have made from it. I am thinking this movie will be pretty good. It will be animated. When I first found out about it, it actually made me think of The Polar Express, which was a book then an animated movie in which Tom Hanks played almost all the parts. This one is similar except a lot of the parts will be played by Jim Carrey… and let us hope this one will be better than T.P.E. *Not Yet Rated (either G or PG).

Fantastic Mr. Fox – Nov 6th. My family’s BIG Roald Dahl fans so when we saw this movie on the roster we got so pumped!!! I hope the director does the book justice. In case you guys do not know already there are a few other Roald Dahl books were that were already made into widely popular movies and they are 1) James and the Giant Peach 2) Matilda and 3) The Witches. *Not Yet Rated (either G or PG).

The Wolf ManNov 6th. I have not seen a good werewolf movie in a long time.. Well, minus Underworld which has werewolves/vampires. Hopefully this movie doesn’t let me down. It has good actors in it, so that is promising. *Not Yet Rated (I am hoping it will be an R but it might be PG-13).

2012 Nov 13th.  So right before I found out about this movie my husband and I were having a discussion about the world ending in on December 21, 2012.. like when the Mayan calendar stopped.. and then I saw this movie was coming out and I was STOKED. I hope this movie doesn’t let me down. I am really ready to see some cool stuff! *Not Yet Rated (PG-13 or R).These sites associated with the movie are funny/neat: http://www.thisistheend.com and http://www.instituteforhumancontinuity.org

Sherlock Holmes – Nov 13th. Who doesn’t like Sherlock Holmes? I am sure someone doesn’t of course lol but I really like detective/mystery/crime/thriller movies. It brings me back to the days of playing the game Clue? Fun stuff! *Not Yet Rated (PG-13 probably).

New Moon – Nov 20th. The second installment in the Twilight saga promises to be much better than the first movie.. with a new director, a bigger budget, and the rumor of Dakota Fanning joining the cast as Jane this movie is sure to be another hit. I will probably be dragged by my MIL or one of my girlfriends to see it but it is NOT one of my must sees. I was dragged to see the first. I thought it was only worthy of 2ish or 3 stars max. I do not understand all the hype or the comparison to the Harry Potter franchise… There is no comparing in my book. *Not Yet Rated (probably PG-13).

 

Planet 51 – Nov 20th. This movie caught my attention because it was a little different.. kind of backwards if you will. An astronaut from Earth arrives on a planet called 51. The inhabitants of the planet are living in fear of being invaded by aliens. It is a bit goofy but I love it! *Not Yet Rated (G or PG).

 

 

The Princess and the Frog – Dec 25th. This one is on my must see list ONLY because it is an animated movie. The one preview I have seen did not spark my interest BUT I have been proven wrong before so we shall see.. Plus it has Oprah in it so it should be good, right? *Not Yet Rated (G-PG).

Responses

  1. Can’t wait to see Duplicity and Fast & Furious!

  2. Wow – there’s a lot of great movies coming out. Thanks for writing up this list.

  3. As for “He’s Just Not That Into You” the book, it was fantastic. It is actually the reason I kicked the Israeli guy to the curb on New Years.. he fit more than one category.. so I saw the writing on the wall.. and decided then and there, it was over.. or rather never had really been. The book really makes you feel good about yourself though.. that it isn’t your fault, just somethings are meant to be..

    I am sure I will be seeing New Moon as well, because I am a Twilight book series fanatic now lol.

  4. I want to pretty much watch all of the same ones as WmWB, but I might have to see the Pelham 123 movie.. as for Push.. I honestly don’t think it looks all that great, but maybe that is because of my nerdy background LOL.

  5. I want to see all the movies Wmwb wants to see and Watchmen :P. Its been such a long time since we had a decent sci-fi movie come out.

  6. I saw push and dint really like it a lot :(, I’m thinking of watching Ink heart.

  7. My husband saw Ink Heart he said it was not bad for a kids movie… so whatever that means. My friend who saw it with him said he thought it was more of a renter not a theater movie.

  8. Okay, guys, I went and watched The International and must say, WmWB, this one is RIGHT up your alley. It totally makes you think conspiracy theory type things that are going on right now.. it REALLY makes you think. I have to put it like my brother would, “it was a damned good movie!” I’ll get a review written and posted within a few days 🙂

  9. I just saw He’s Just Not That Into You. I really enjoyed it, I have not read the book or anything but the movie was very enjoyable. I liked how it brought out so many emotions in me. I will also get a review written up soon.

  10. I’ll get around to watching He’s Just Not That Into You when it comes out on video at Redbox lol.. but the book was really great. I got my review of The International done and posted… yes, I did it VERY early in the morning.. had to do it while I had energy, which seems to be something I am sorely lacking in these days. As for the Twilight movie.. I went and re-watched it at our cheap $2 theater on Wednesday. It made MUCH more sense after reading the book.. I wasn’t as confused as to what the hell was going on in certain scenes, plus it made sense with the stuff left unsaid in the movie. I finally got the inuendos… and I swear, somehow, Stephenie Meyer must have got into my head somehow.. people keep pointing out some similarities.. hehehe

  11. WmWB, I agree with you.. Never, ever let small children watch Nightmare on Elm Street.. at that point in their development, they believe anything and everything.. so it is easy for their small, adaptable minds to believe a monster can invade and hurt them in their dreams. That being said, a monster can’t do this, but it HAS been proven that the brain itself can do amazing, yet harmful things just through the process of THOUGHT alone. My brother is still scared of the dark to this day after my stupid, friend told him when we were small kids that Freddy lived in my closet and was coming to get him.. my brother was only 4 at the time!

  12. Hey 6mile.. where’s the post at? I have no energy and am not well at this point in time, what’s your excuse? heheheh j/k

  13. I saw Bolt today and really liked it a lot. I’ve not been doing too good ara.I keep telling myself I will post but I hardly sit down to write. I kno, I should, hehe.

  14. I’m not really too interested in He’s Just Not That Into You.I cant just wait to watch WATCHMEN though, I hope it does not disappoint.

  15. Well, good then, you can give us your outlook on it then.. I really don’t have much desire to see it myself though..

  16. Ara.. I agree 100% the mind of a young person is a very fragile thing and very easily manipulated buy things seen & heard..

    Bolt, Yes it was cute not as good as Kung Fu Panda and Wall-e but still not bad!

    6mile did you see Watchmen? I really liked it but a lot of people hated it. I think it was to deep for most people. All people care about is seeing action not politics and things with meaning lol.. I like a bit of both!

    Note to self..must still write reviews..


Leave a Reply

Categories

